

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

July 9, 2021

Board of Education reauthorizes schools for operation

Sixteen schools completed, more on the slate

The Navajo Nation Board of Education (NNBOE) continues to meet with schools that operate with grants from the Bureau of Indian Education (BIE) to review whether they will reauthorize or deny their grants.

Schools that do not meet fiscal or academic standards can be assumed by the Navajo Nation Department of Diné Education (DODE) until the Board determines those issues have been resolved.

As of July 9, 16 schools have been granted reauthorization by the Board. The reauthorized schools and the duration of their reauthorization is below:

1.	Alamo Navajo School Board Inc.	6 months
2.	Ch'ooshgai Community School	2 years
3.	Dilcon Community School	2 years
4.	Dzil Na O Dith Hle Community School	2 years
5.	Greasewood Spring Community School	2 Years
6.	Hunters Point Boarding School	4 months
7.	Little Singer Community School	2 years
8.	NaaTsisAan Community School	6 months
9.	Pinon Community School	2 years
10.	Ramah Navajo School Board	1 year
11.	Richfield Residential Hall	4 years
12.	Shiprock Associated Schools	1 year
13.	Tohaajiilee Community School	2 years
14.	Rock Point Community School	2 years
15.	Wide Ruins Community School	1 year
16.	Winslow Residential Hall	1 year

Ten schools have not yet been reauthorized by the Board. They are:

- 1. Flagstaff Bordertown Dormitory
- 2. Greyhills Academy High School
- 3. Kin Dah Lichi'l Olta'
- 4. Kinteel Residential Campus
- 5. Leupp Schools
- 6. Lukachukai Community School
- 7. Many Farms Community School
- 8. Na'Neelzhiin Ji Olta School
- 9. Rough Rock Community School
- 10. Shonto Preparatory

The next scheduled reauthorization date is July 30.

For the latest updates from the Department of Diné Education, visit http://www.navajonationdode.org/ or follow us on Facebook and Twitter.